Oscars 2023

VN:F [1.9.16_1159]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

The 95th Academy Awards was a ceremony held by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) on March 12, 2023, at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. It honoured films released in 2022. The event was televised in the U.S. by ABC. Comedian and late-night talk show host Jimmy Kimmel hosted the show for the third time, after emceeing the 89th and 90th editions of the ceremony in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

Everything Everywhere All at Once (directed by Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert) led the ceremony with eleven nominations and seven wins, including Best Picture. Other winners included All Quiet on the Western Front (Directed by Edward Berger) with four awards and The Whale (Directed by Darren Aronofsky) with two. Avatar (the sequel to Avatar (2009) and the second instalment in the Avatar film series) directed by James Cameron was among five films with one award each.

Michelle Yeoh has won Best Actress for her role in the film Everything Everywhere All at Once, becoming the first woman of Asian descent to win the Academy Award. Brendan Fraser wins Best Actor for his role in the film The Whale.

The nominations were announced by actors Riz Ahmed and Allison Williams on January 24, 2023.

It was the first time the Best Picture category featured two sequels, Avatar: The Way of Water and Top Gun: Maverick, as well as the first time two films grossing over $1 billion worldwide were nominated for Best Picture in the same year. All Quiet on the Western Front‘s nine nominations trailed only Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000) and Roma (2018) for the most nominations by a film not in the English language. The Quiet Girl was the first submission from Ireland to receive a nomination for Best International Feature Film.

Judd Hirsch, nominated for Best Supporting Actor for his role in The Fabelmans. At age 90, John Williams is the oldest competitive nominee in Oscar history; this was his 53rd nomination, breaking his own record as the most Oscar-nominated living person, and the second-most nominated person of all time behind Walt Disney.

Everything Everywhere All at Once became the first film since 2013’s Gravity to win seven Academy Awards, and the most awarded Best Picture winner since 2008’s Slumdog Millionaire. It is the third film in history to win in three acting categories, following A Streetcar Named Desire (1951) and Network (1976).

A24 won nine awards, more than any other studio or distributor; with Everything Everywhere All at Once and The Whale, the studio was the first to win seven of the eight top awards – Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, and the four acting awards, missing only Best Adapted Screenplay.

VN:F [1.9.16_1159]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Комментарии закрыты.